BLEEDING HEART

Liza Gyllenhaal

Liza Gyllenhaal has charmed readers with her “gripping and deeply perceptive” (Ben Sherwood, Author of Charlie St. Cloud) novels. Now the author of A Place for Us brings us a captivating new story about a woman’s struggle to rebuild her life after scandal destroys her marriage….

After her accountant husband disappears with millions of dollars stolen from his company’s clients, Alice Hyatt flees New York City and moves to her family’s longtime summer home in a small town in western Massachusetts. There she begins to make a new start, reconnecting with old friends and finding peace—and a growing sense of pride—as a landscape architect.

more …

Liza Gyllenhaal has charmed readers with her “gripping and deeply perceptive” (Ben Sherwood, Author of Charlie St. Cloud) novels. Now the author of A Place for Us brings us a captivating new story about a woman’s struggle to rebuild her life after scandal destroys her marriage….

After her accountant husband disappears with millions of dollars stolen from his company’s clients, Alice Hyatt flees New York City and moves to her family’s longtime summer home in a small town in western Massachusetts. There she begins to make a new start, reconnecting with old friends and finding peace—and a growing sense of pride—as a landscape architect.

When extremely wealthy newcomer Graham Mackenzie asks her to design an elaborate garden for him, she can’t turn down the opportunity despite misgivings about Mackenzie’s energy company, which specializes in the controversial practice of fracking.

But just as the project nears completion, she learns Mackenzie’s offer is not all that it seems. Once again, Alice finds herself embroiled in someone else’s crimes, this time putting her newfound success—and possibly her life—in jeopardy….

less …
  • NAL
  • Paperback
  • November 2014
  • 352 Pages
  • 9780451466709

Buy the Book

$15.00

indies Bookstore indies Bookstore

About Liza Gyllenhaal

Liza Gyllenhaal is the author of A Place for Us, Local Knowledge, and So Near. She and her husband divide their time between New York City and the Berkshire Hills in Massachusetts.

Praise

The multilayered plot and deceptive characters makes this a strong crossover chick lit/mystery novel. Great for book club discussion groups.”

—Library Journal

“A compelling, adroitly crafted novel of suspense about a woman’s second chance at happiness. Her lucid prose illuminates everyday life while shining a light on the darkest secrets and desires. The taut and evocative prose is psychologically astute and powerful. Liza Gyllenhaal is one of our finest novelists of the heart writing today.”—Carol Goodman, author of The Lake of Dead Languages and the Blythewood novels

In this tautly paced mystery set in the bucolic Berkshires, Liza Gyllenhaal delivers a tale of betrayal, greed, and murder with more twists than the paths through the gardens she describes so poetically along the way. Gyllenhaal also handily highlights a contemporary social issue sure to spark debates in every corner, as well as creating female characters with heart and ambition who have the courage to get their hands dirty, live by their convictions, and reinvent themselves. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Chris Bohjalian, this book’s for you!—Holly Robinson, author of The Wishing Hill and Beach Plum Island

Full of intrigue and heart, Liza Gyllenhaal’s new novel is sure to leave you feeling as if you’ve taken a stroll through your favorite flower garden and found that strength was in full bloom.”—Jennifer Scott, author of The Sister Season

Discussion Questions

What does the title mean? Who in the book has a “bleeding heart”?

Do you think Alice was justified in putting aside her principles to work for Mackenzie?

Whom did you suspect — and when — of being behind Mackenzie’s death?

Alice still spends a lot of time thinking about her husband. How do you think her unresolved feelings for him affect the action of the novel?

How would you compare Alice’s and Gwen’s attitude toward money?

Do you think Mackenzie’s a crook — or just someone whose business takes a bad turn?

Alice has a way of misjudging important people in her life, especially men. Why do you think she does that?

What is it about Mara that makes so many female characters, including Alice, want to help and protect her?

What do you think of Alice’s decision not to mortgage the house in Woodhaven even though she desperately needed the money?

Alice says that she’s happiest and most at peace with herself when she’s gardening. Is there some place — or thing — that gives you a similar sense of well-being?

Of all the things that Alice wants to live for in the end, what do you think is most important to her?