POINT DUME

Katie Arnoldi

Katie Arnoldi’s critically acclaimed debut novel Chemical Pink launched her onto the bestseller lists and so established itself into the public’s consciousness that its title was the answer to a Double Jeopardy question.

Two years ago Overlook published her sophomore effort, The Wentworths, a searing portrait of a wealthy Westside, Los Angeles, family. This too was a fixture on bestseller lists and earned her a wider audience.

With Point Dume she has produced her most remarkable novel to date—bringing to life subjects she knows well—the death of surf culture,

more …

Katie Arnoldi’s critically acclaimed debut novel Chemical Pink launched her onto the bestseller lists and so established itself into the public’s consciousness that its title was the answer to a Double Jeopardy question.

Two years ago Overlook published her sophomore effort, The Wentworths, a searing portrait of a wealthy Westside, Los Angeles, family. This too was a fixture on bestseller lists and earned her a wider audience.

With Point Dume she has produced her most remarkable novel to date—bringing to life subjects she knows well—the death of surf culture, human trafficking, the Mexican drug cartel, illegal pot farms on public lands, environmental devastation, and obsessive love.

A fast moving page-turner, with insights that Arnoldi has gleaned from years of on-the-ground research, this is a timely novel that seems timeless.

less …
  • Overlook Hardcover
  • Hardcover
  • May 2010
  • 256 Pages
  • 9781590203293

Buy the Book

$24.95

indies Bookstore indies Bookstore

About Katie Arnoldi

Katie Arnoldi’s literary debut Chemical Pink, set in the competitive world of female bodybuilding, became a surprise bestseller, winning Arnoldi praise from critics and readers alike, The Wentworths too graced the bestseller list. She lives in Southern California with her husband, the painter Charles Arnoldi, and their two children.

Praise

“Part comedy of manners, part cautionary tale, Point Dume (named after the stunning coastal promontory in Malibu) tells the interlocking stories of disparate characters all bound by their connection to the land by the sea.”—LA Times

“The prose style is spare and powerful and the pages turn effortlessly.”—Publisher’s Weekly

“The summer is fully and officially upon us and that means summer reading is here! In fiction, our local Point Dume still tops the list–a great read for beach or travel.”—Malibu Times, #1 Bestseller

“Arnoldi knows how to make readers care about her protagonists. Her well-researched, well-written novel will appeal to fans of T.C. Boyle and Cormac McCarthy as well as to readers who mourn the destruction of the environment.”—Library Journal

Discussion Questions