THE AMBASSADOR’S DAUGHTER

Pam Jenoff

Paris, 1919.

The world’s leaders have gathered to rebuild from the ashes of the Great War. But for one woman, the City of Light harbors dark secrets and dangerous liaisons, for which many could pay dearly.

Brought to the peace conference by her father, a German diplomat, Margot Rosenthal initially resents being trapped in the congested French capital, where she is still looked upon as the enemy. But as she contemplates returning to Berlin and a life with Stefan, the wounded fiancé she hardly knows anymore, she decides that being in Paris is not so bad after all.

more …

Paris, 1919.

The world’s leaders have gathered to rebuild from the ashes of the Great War. But for one woman, the City of Light harbors dark secrets and dangerous liaisons, for which many could pay dearly.

Brought to the peace conference by her father, a German diplomat, Margot Rosenthal initially resents being trapped in the congested French capital, where she is still looked upon as the enemy. But as she contemplates returning to Berlin and a life with Stefan, the wounded fiancé she hardly knows anymore, she decides that being in Paris is not so bad after all.

Bored and torn between duty and the desire to be free, Margot strikes up unlikely alliances: with Krysia, an accomplished musician with radical acquaintances and a secret to protect; and with Georg, the handsome, damaged naval officer who gives Margot a job—and also a reason to question everything she thought she knew about where her true loyalties should lie.

Against the backdrop of one of the most significant events of the century, a delicate web of lies obscures the line between the casualties of war and of the heart, making trust a luxury that no one can afford.

less …
  • Harlequin MIRA
  • Paperback
  • February 2013
  • 336 Pages
  • 9780778315094

Buy the Book

$14.95

indies Bookstore indies Bookstore

About Pam Jenoff

Pam Jenoff is the author of several novels, including The Kommandant’s Girl, which received widespread acclaim, earned her a nomination for the Quill Awards and became an international bestseller. She previously served as a Foreign Service Officer for the U.S. State Department in Europe, as the Special Assistant to the Secretary of the Army at the Pentagon and as a practicing attorney at a large firm and in-house. She received her juris doctor from the University of Pennsylvania, her master’s degree in history from Cambridge University and her bachelor’s degree in international affairs from The George Washington University. Pam Jenoff lives with her husband and three children near Philadelphia where, in addition to writing, she teaches law school.

Praise

“A tale of surprise betrayals, unquenchable desire, and a necessary awakening, Jenoff’s thorough and elaborate descriptions of character and setting makes for a satisfying period romance.”Publishers Weekly

“Fans of Kate Morton and Alyson Richman should reach for popular Jenoff’s latest historical romance…Jenoff ably plumbs the concepts of courage, faith and love against a dramatic backdrop.”Booklist

Discussion Questions

As the story opened, Margot appeared to be an inde¬pendent and confident young woman. How do you think her character changed throughout the story, and what caused those changes? What do you feel was her greatest strength and weakness?

How do you think the loss of her mother affected Mar¬got? How did this change throughout the book, par¬ticularly when she learned the truth?

Georg and Margot developed feelings for one another after mere days. What did you see in their time to¬gether that attracted them so powerfully? Do you be¬lieve it is possible to fall in love so quickly and for such a relationship to last?

How was it possible for Margot to keep secrets from those she professed to love most? How did it affect her relationships with her father, with Georg? Do you think that Margot’s choices were justified by her intentions?

Margot and Krysia became such close friends despite significant differences in age and circumstances. What do you think it was that drew them together, and what did each of them provide for the other? Have you ever found yourself in such a close but unlikely friendship?

Margot was a very young woman dealing with situa¬tions that most of us today would find completely over¬ whelming at age twenty. What do you think it was that Margot really wanted out of life?

What did you think about Margot’s relationship with Stefan? Could you sympathize with her, being torn by an old promise to a man she didn’t know anymore and her love for a man that offered her a promising future? What would you have done in her shoes?

Margot experienced anti-German sentiment from those around her who saw her as the enemy. Do you think this was a fair judgment, given the political climate of the time? Do you think this type of mentality still ex¬ists today?

The post-WWI era is less familiar to some readers than WWII and other historical time periods. What did you like about a novel set during this time? Did you identify with any symbolic items, people or places throughout the book? What did they represent to you?

Do you agree that Margot’s relationship with her fa¬ther improved over the course of the novel? How so, or how not?

What do you think happens six months after the end of the book? Six years?

The Ambassador’s Daughter is the prequel to two of Pam Jenoff’s other novels, The Kommandant’s Girl and The Diplomat’s Wife. If you have read those, how did you feel this book compared? Did knowing what happens twenty years down the line color your reading of this book?