WITH MALICE

Eileen Cook

For fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling, addictive psychological thriller about a teenage girl who cannot remember the last six weeks of her life.

Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron’s senior trip to Italy was supposed to be the adventure of a lifetime. And then the accident happened. Waking up in a hospital room, her leg in a cast, stitches in her face, and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be, Jill comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident in her travels abroad.

more …

For fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling, addictive psychological thriller about a teenage girl who cannot remember the last six weeks of her life.

Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron’s senior trip to Italy was supposed to be the adventure of a lifetime. And then the accident happened. Waking up in a hospital room, her leg in a cast, stitches in her face, and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be, Jill comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident in her travels abroad. She was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident…wasn’t an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life.

Click here to read an excerpt!

less …
  • HMH Books for Young Readers
  • Hardcover
  • June 2016
  • 320 Pages
  • 9780544805095

Buy the Book

$17.99

indies Bookstore indies Bookstore

About Eileen Cook

Eileen Cook is a multi-published author, with her novels appearing in eight

different languages. Her books have been optioned for film and TV. Eileen

lives in Vancouver with her husband and one very naughty dog.

Praise

“Cinematic scene breaks and propulsive reveals will keep the pages

furiously turning in this slow-burning but explosive thriller.”
Booklist,

STARRED REVIEW

“A solid thriller that will leave readers guessing until the

very last page.” –School Library

The story is twisty, well-written, and so powerful that I felt as though I was reading about a true crime. Is there anything more complex or vicious than a teen girl? Especially one with secrets.–Chevy Stevens New York Times Bestselling author Still Missing and Those Girls

Some books you read and forget immediately. Some you finish and want to start again immediately. This is one of the latter. Staggeringly smart, just enough sexy, and virtually seamless.”–Terra Elan McVoy, author of Edgar Finalist, Criminal

Discussion Questions

Jill is an unreliable narrator. As a reader do you believe her story? Do you think she

believes what she says? How does she compare to other unreliable narrators such

as Amy in Gone Girl and Rachel in The Girl on the Train?

The story of With Malice combines chapters told from Jill’s point of view as well

as chapters from other characters, news stories and police reports. How did these

different viewpoints shape your opinion of what happened in the book?

Jill and Simone have been friends since elementary school and each of them have a

set role. Jill says that Simone is Batman, she’s Robin, Simone is Sherlock and she’s

Watson, etc. In your friendships does everyone have a role to play and if so, what

happens when that role changes?

Jill is very excited to go to Italy believing that the experience will change her life.

What is it about travel that changes people? Have you ever taken a trip that

impacted your life? If you could take a trip- where would you go?

Why does Simone want to go on the trip and how does her decision to go impact

Jill?

Jill worries that when she goes away to college she will lose her friendship with

Simone. Do you have anyone in your life that used to be a very close friend, who

you have grown apart from? Would you change that if you could? Do friendships

have a time limit?

Do you believe that Jill’s parents believe she is innocent? Why or why not?

Would you consider Jill and Simone to be friends? What role does envy play in

friendships? Have you ever had a friendship that wasn’t healthy- how did it resolve

itself?

Once the story of Simone’s death hits the press, many people in the public decide

that Jill is guilty. Do you think media coverage influences the justice system? How?

Do you find you have strong opinions on people in the news?

Anna tells Jill that even if she wasn’t tough before the experience of being in the

rehab hospital will make her tough. How do you think this experience changes Jill?

How did you feel about the character of Nico? He is only a couple of years older

than Jill, but he is a leader in the school program, do you think he took advantage of

her?

Do you believe Jill’s brain injury prevents her from remembering the accident, or is

it that she doesn’t want to face what really happened?

Jill was bothered by an online troll when she wrote her blog. Do you think online

bullying is better or worse than being bullied in person? Why? Have you ever had a

negative experience online? Have you ever said something you later regretted?

There are some who feel teens share too much online. Do you agree? Have you ever

shared something you later wished you hadn’t?

At the end of the book Jill discovers that Simone was her online troll and has either

or dream or memory where Simone tells her why she did it. Why do you think

Simone left those comments? Is there any justification for what Simone did- why or

why not?

Have you ever been betrayed by a friend? Or have you ever discovered something

about a friend that made you see them in a very different way?

Because of her brain injury, Jill is vulnerable to having false memories. Do you

believe at the end of the book that what she experiences is a dream or a memory? If

it is a memory- is Jill justified in deciding to say nothing?