Bookmark the Blog


THE ROUND HOUSE

The Round House won the National Book Award for fiction.

One Sunday in the spring of 1988, a woman living on a reservation in North Dakota is attacked. The details of the crime are slow to surface as Geraldine Coutts is traumatized and reluctant to relive or reveal what happened, either to the police or to her husband, Bazil, and thirteen-year-old son, Joe. In one day, Joe’s life is irrevocably transformed. He tries to heal his mother, but she will not leave her bed and slips into an abyss of solitude. Increasingly alone, Joe finds himself thrust prematurely into an adult world for which he is ill prepared.

read more

THE WEIGHT OF SMALL THINGS

From the acclaimed author of Prayers and Lies and The Sometimes Daughter comes an emotional, compelling, and ultimately uplifting novel that explores the fragility and resilience of love—and the decisions, large and small, that determine not just who we are, but who we want to be.

Corrie Philips has an enviable life—even if it’s not quite the one she wanted. She enjoys working at her university alumni magazine, her house is beautiful, and her husband, Mark, is attentive, handsome, and wealthy. But after years of frustration and failed attempts, Corrie is desperate for a child—and haunted by the choices in her past.

read more

THE CARTOGRAPHER OF NO MAN’S LAND

From a hardscrabble village in Nova Scotia to the collapsing trenches of France, a debut novel about a family divided by World War

In the tradition of Robert Goolrick’s A Reliable Wife and Karl Marlantes’s Matterhorn, P. S. Duffy’s astonishing debut showcases a rare and instinctive talent emerging in midlife. Her novel leaps across the Atlantic, between a father at war and a son coming of age at home without him.

When his beloved brother-in-law goes missing at the front in 1916, Angus defies his pacifist upbringing to join the war and find him.

read more

ALL YOU COULD ASK FOR

Brooke has been happily married to her college sweetheart for fifteen years. Samantha’s newlywed bliss is steam-rolled when she finds shocking evidence of infidelity on her husband’s computer.

Katherine works eighteen hours a day for the man who irreparably shattered her heart fifteen years ago.

Brooke, Samantha, and Katherine don’t know one another yet, but all three are about to discover the conquering power of friendship—and that they have all they could ask for, as long as they have each other.

read more

MANUSCRIPT FOUND IN ACCRA

In 1974, an English archaeologist discovered a manuscript in Accra, the present capital of Ghana; carbon dating showed that it had originated in 1307. Written in Arabic, Hebrew, and Latin, the document describes a meeting in the year 1099 between the people of Jerusalem and a sage known as the Copt. It is the year in which the city, where Jews, Christians, and Muslims live together in harmony, is preparing for an attack by the armies of the Crusades.

In this captivating novel, best-selling author Paulo Coelho brings to life the anguish of a city on the brink of annihilation.

read more

THE SANDCASTLE GIRLS

When Elizabeth Endicott arrives in Aleppo, Syria, she has a diploma from Mount Holyoke, a crash course in nursing, and only the most basic grasp of the Armenian language. It’s 1915, and Elizabeth has volunteered to help deliver food and medical aid to refugees of the Armenian Genocide during the First World War. There she meets Armen, a young Armenian engineer who has already lost his wife and infant daughter. After leaving Aleppo and traveling into Egypt to join the British Army, he begins to write Elizabeth letters, realizing that he has fallen in love with the wealthy young American.

read more