CUTTING FOR STONE

By Abraham Verghese
VintageJanuary 2010
www.ReadingGroupCenter.com
www.abrahamverghese.com

Trade Paperback688 pages, $15.95, ISBN: 978-0-375-71436-8
Subject: Family / Culture & World Issues / Personal Challenges

"One of the best novels I've read in a long time."—Robert Bly

"To exhilarate you . . . A saga about love, medicine, and exile, this debut reads like a modern Odyssey as it follows twin boys born in an Ethiopian mission hospital as they search for the man presumed to be their father."—Good Housekeeping

"Epic/intimate storytelling in the tradition of Forster, Conrad, Dinesen, Maugham, Naipaul. . . . All signs point in the affirmative that Verghese has succeeded in his ambition to write 'the great medical novel.'"—Steve Bennett, San Antonio Express-News

"The novel is full of compassion and wise vision. . . . I feel I changed forever after reading this book, as if an entire universe had been illuminated for me. It's an astonishing accomplishment to make such a foreign world familiar to a reader by the book's end."—Sandra Cisneros, San Antonio Express-News

ANNUAL FAV BOOKS

ORDER PRINT EDITIONS

 

SPOTLIGHT

 

BY THE BOOK

 

BOOK CLUB ADVICE

 

NEWS