One of our recommended books is Black Widows by Cate Quinn

BLACK WIDOWS


Blake’s dead. They say his wife killed him. If so… which one?

Polygamist Blake Nelson built a homestead on a hidden stretch of land—a raw paradise in the wilds of Utah—where he lived with his three wives:

Rachel, the first wife, obedient and doting to a fault, with a past she’d prefer to keep quiet.
Tina, the rebel wife, everything Rachel isn’t, straight from rehab and the Vegas strip.
And Emily, the young wife, naïve and scared, estranged from her Catholic family.

The only thing that they had in common was Blake.

more …

Blake’s dead. They say his wife killed him. If so… which one?

Polygamist Blake Nelson built a homestead on a hidden stretch of land—a raw paradise in the wilds of Utah—where he lived with his three wives:

Rachel, the first wife, obedient and doting to a fault, with a past she’d prefer to keep quiet.
Tina, the rebel wife, everything Rachel isn’t, straight from rehab and the Vegas strip.
And Emily, the young wife, naïve and scared, estranged from her Catholic family.

The only thing that they had in common was Blake. Until all three are accused of his murder.

When Blake is found dead under the desert sun, all three wives become suspect—not only to the police, but to each other. As the investigation draws them closer, each wife must decide who can be trusted. With stories surfacing of a notorious cult tucked away in the hills, whispers flying about a fourth wife, and evidence that can’t quite explain what had been keeping Blake busy, the three widows face a reckoning that might shatter all they know to be true.

For fans of The Wife Between Us and The Dry comes a chilling murder mystery that takes a domestic thriller’s classic question—“Did his wife kill him?”—and twists it into an completely new type of suspense.

less …
  • Sourcebooks Landmark
  • Hardcover
  • February 2021
  • 432 Pages
  • 9781728220468

Buy the Book

$26.99

indies Bookstore indies Bookstore

About Cate Quinn

Cate Quinn is a bestselling historical thriller novelist in the UK under the name C.S. Quinn. Her Charlie Tuesday series for Thomas & Mercer UK sold over 350,000 copies across four books, and 35,000 ebooks in the U.S. She is also a travel and lifestyle journalist for The Times, The Guardian, and The Mirror, alongside many magazines. This is her first novel as Cate Quinn.

Praise

Black Widows is a bombshell of a suspense novel! The story unfolds through three sister-wives married to the same man, and each woman is unique, fascinating, and full of surprises. This tantalizing and troubling story will keep you guessing right up to the end.” –Samantha Downing, bestselling author of My Lovely Wife and He Started It

Black Widows is a tense portrayal of an unconventional family and the secrets each one of them carries. With the murder of their husband, three sister wives must contend with their own pasts while suspecting the others of the crime. Quinn masterfully paints each woman with a different brush, making her unique, compelling…and suspicious. As tensions unravel and secrets are revealed, you will race to the end, watching the puzzle assemble into a picture you never imagined.” – Julie Clark, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight

“Quinn gives her readers an exquisite murder mystery, taking us through uncharted territory of off-the-grid, modern-day intentional communities. Black Widows is a steady, slow boil you’ll be happy to immerse yourself in.” – Christina Dalcher, international bestselling author of Vox and Master Class

Black Widows is a brilliant joyride in the company of three unforgettable women, sister-wives with nothing in common except their dead husband. Completely compelling and vividly told, the story plays with your loyalties and makes you question what counts as moral behaviour. This is a hugely enjoyable and original mystery with real heart, and I loved it.” – Jane Casey, author of The Burning and How to Fall