One of our recommended books is The Devil and the Dark Water by Stuart Turton

THE DEVIL AND THE DARK WATER


A murder on the high seas. A remarkable detective duo. A demon who may or may not exist.

It’s 1634 and Samuel Pipps, the world’s greatest detective, is being transported to Amsterdam to be executed for a crime he may, or may not, have committed. Travelling with him is his loyal bodyguard, Arent Hayes, who is determined to prove his friend innocent.

But no sooner are they out to sea than devilry begins to blight the voyage. A twice-dead leper stalks the decks. Strange symbols appear on the sails. Livestock is slaughtered. Anyone could be to blame.

more …

A murder on the high seas. A remarkable detective duo. A demon who may or may not exist.

It’s 1634 and Samuel Pipps, the world’s greatest detective, is being transported to Amsterdam to be executed for a crime he may, or may not, have committed. Travelling with him is his loyal bodyguard, Arent Hayes, who is determined to prove his friend innocent.

But no sooner are they out to sea than devilry begins to blight the voyage. A twice-dead leper stalks the decks. Strange symbols appear on the sails. Livestock is slaughtered. Anyone could be to blame. Even a demon.

And then three passengers are marked for death, including Samuel.

With Pipps imprisoned, only Arent can solve a mystery that connects every passenger. A mystery that stretches back into their past and now threatens to sink the ship, killing everybody on board.

For fans of Steven King, The Devil and the Dark Water brings a chilling new spin to the Sherlock Holmes detective duo in a thriller of supernatural horror, occult suspicion, and paranormal mystery on the high seas.

less …
  • Sourcebooks Landmark
  • Hardcover
  • October 2020
  • 480 Pages
  • 9781728206028

Buy the Book

$26.99

indies Bookstore indies Bookstore

About Stuart Turton

Stuart Turton is a freelance journalist who lives in West London with his wife. Stuart is not to be trusted — in the nicest possible way. The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is his first novel.

Praise

“A devilish sea saga that never runs out of cutthroat conspiracies.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“[An] outstanding whodunit…Fans of impossible crime fiction won’t want to miss this one.” Publishers Weekly, starred review