One of our recommended books is Prozac Nation by Elizabeth Wurtzel

PROZAC NATION

Young and Depressed in America


Elizabeth Wurtzel’s New York Times best-selling memoir, with a new afterword.

Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger on the faint pulse of an overdiagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. Her famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar.

more …

Elizabeth Wurtzel’s New York Times best-selling memoir, with a new afterword.

Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger on the faint pulse of an overdiagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. Her famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar.

less …
  • Mariner Books
  • Paperback
  • June 2017
  • 384 Pages
  • 9780544960091

Buy the Book

$16.99

indies Bookstore indies Bookstore

About Elizabeth Wurtzel

Elizabeth Wurtzel is the author of Prozac NationElizabeth Wurtzel (1967-2020) was the author of best-selling books including Prozac Nation, Bitch: In Praise of Difficult Women, and More, Now, Again. A Harvard and Yale Law School graduate, her work appeared in such publications as The New Yorker, New York, The Guardian, and The Oxford American.

Praise

“Sparkling, luminescent prose . . . A powerful portrait of one girl’s journey through the purgatory of depression and back.” New York Times

“A book that became a cultural touchstone.” —New Yorker