One of our recommended books is A Question Mark Is Half a Heart by Sofia Lundberg

A QUESTION MARK IS HALF A HEART


How deeply can you love when your heart is full of secrets?  

A sweeping, propulsive family story about a woman learning to love, from the bustle of New York’s fashion scene to a remote, windswept Swedish island, by the acclaimed author of The Red Address Book—“a love letter to the human heart” (Alyson Richman).

By age 50, Elin Boals has created for herself a perfect life: her wildly successful business as Manhattan’s preeminent fashion photographer is flourishing. Her handsome, patient husband is devoted to her; her teenaged daughter, Alice,

more …

How deeply can you love when your heart is full of secrets?  

A sweeping, propulsive family story about a woman learning to love, from the bustle of New York’s fashion scene to a remote, windswept Swedish island, by the acclaimed author of The Red Address Book—“a love letter to the human heart” (Alyson Richman).

By age 50, Elin Boals has created for herself a perfect life: her wildly successful business as Manhattan’s preeminent fashion photographer is flourishing. Her handsome, patient husband is devoted to her; her teenaged daughter, Alice, has been accepted to the ballet academy of her dreams. But then Elin receives an innocuous looking envelope. Folded inside is a star-chart, with an address written by a familiar hand.

Shaken, Elin begins to have startling flashbacks, to a life very different from the childhood in a Paris bookstore that she has so lovingly recounted to Alice. In these images, a poverty-stricken little girl cares for her two ragged baby brothers, laughing with her family on the good days, sheltering them from her mother’s sadness and her father’s wrath on the bad days. Elin also remembers vivid walks with a young classmate, Fredrik, whose steadfast friendship and starlit confidences shaped her young life. As Elin becomes consumed by these memories, though, her New York life begins to crumble dramatically. Finally, her family’s troubling questions drive her to face, at last, the brutal secret from her past.

At once a heartwarming family story and a page-turning mystery, A Question Mark Is Half a Heart traces a surprising journey across continents to reconciliation, and toward finding a true sense of home.

less …
  • Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Hardcover
  • March 2021
  • 320 Pages
  • 9781328473028

Buy the Book

$25.00

indies Bookstore indies Bookstore

About Sofia Lundberg

Sofia Lundberg is the author of A Question Mark Is Half a HeartSofia Lundberg is a journalist and former magazine editor. Her debut novel, The Red Address Book, was published in 32 territories worldwide. She lives in Stockholm with her son.

Praise

“A warmhearted portrayal of family and forgiveness.” Kirkus Reviews 

“Readers will soak up the suspense as they search for the truth alongside Elin up until the end.” Publishers Weekly

“Elin is a complex character with a compelling story, and Lundberg avoids the obvious resolutions that readers may expect in favor of a deeper exploration of the meaning of love, forgiveness, and family. This satisfying novel will appeal to fans of Lisa Duffy and Patti Callahan Henry.” Booklist