THE LOST CASTLE

Kristy Cambron

Kristy Cambron returns with a spellbinding split-time tale that bridges the past to present in three time-periods—the French Revolution, World War II, and present day—The Lost Castle is a story of loves won and lost, of battles waged in the hearts of men, and an enchanted castle that stood witness to it all.

Ellie Carver arrives at her grandmother’s bedside and finds her speaking of a secret past and castle ruins forgotten by time. Each piece that unlocks the story seems to unlock part of Ellie too. But her grandmother is quickly disappearing into the shadows of Alzheimer’s and Ellie must act fast if she wants to uncover the truth.

more …

Kristy Cambron returns with a spellbinding split-time tale that bridges the past to present in three time-periods—the French Revolution, World War II, and present day—The Lost Castle is a story of loves won and lost, of battles waged in the hearts of men, and an enchanted castle that stood witness to it all.

Ellie Carver arrives at her grandmother’s bedside and finds her speaking of a secret past and castle ruins forgotten by time. Each piece that unlocks the story seems to unlock part of Ellie too. But her grandmother is quickly disappearing into the shadows of Alzheimer’s and Ellie must act fast if she wants to uncover the truth. Drawn by the mystery surrounding The Sleeping Beauty—a forgotten castle so named for the beloved fairy tale—Ellie embarks on a journey to France in hopes that she can unearth its secrets before time silences them forever.

A romantic and captivating story perfect for fans of The Women in the Castle, Lilac Girls, and The Wedding Dress.

less …
  • Thomas Nelson
  • Paperback
  • February 2018
  • 384 Pages
  • 9780718095468

Buy the Book

$15.99

indies Bookstore indies Bookstore

About Kristy Cambron

Kristy Cambron has a background in art and design, but she fancies life as a vintage-inspired storyteller. She is the bestselling author of The Ringmaster’s Wife. Her novels have been named to Library Journal Reviews’ Best Books and RT Book Reviewers’ Choice Awards Best lists for 2014 & 2015. Kristy holds a degree in Art History/Research Writing, and has 15 years of experience in education and leadership development from a Fortune-100 Corporation. Kristy lives in Indiana with her husband and three sons, and could probably be bribed with a coconut mocha latte and a good read.

Author Website

Praise

“It’s been a long time since I’ve been so thoroughly engrossed in a novel . . . The Lost Castle kept me spellbound!”—Tamera Alexander, USA TODAY bestselling author of To Whisper Her Name and Christmas at Carnton

“Cambron weaves an enchanting story of love, loss, war, and hope in The Lost Castle…all the romance and danger of the best fairy tale.”Katherine Reay, author of Dear Mr. Knightley and The Austen Escape

“Cambron once again makes smart use of multiple eras in her latest time-jumping romance…[and] spins tales of resiliency, compassion, and courage.”Publishers Weekly

Discussion Questions

1. Ellie’s view of her grandmother had been one of shared memories from old photo albums and the limited stories she’d heard of Lady Vi’s life during the Second World War. It is not until the discovery of a lost love—and the unearthing of Vi’s participation in the French Resistance—that Ellie sees her grandmother in a new light. How might Ellie’s memory of her grandmother have been different if Vi hadn’t been able to share pieces of her past before the effects of Alzheimer’s prevented it? What changed once Ellie learned the full story of the castle?

2. Aveline’s interest in politics and her compassion for the peasant class renders her a liability to her family’s wealth and rank, and carries her outside the acceptable roles for women in eighteenth-century France. What decisions does Aveline make that positively affect others yet put her own life and livelihood at risk? When is it important to stand up for our beliefs, even when our own comforts may be negatively impacted?

3. Julien’s band of French Resistance fighters at the castle ruins becomes a makeshift family, brought together by their common bond to fight for survival in a time of war. Have you ever developed a bond with a friend or coworker who held a differing world view? How did that relationship affect the way you see the world around you?

4. The visual of crumbling walls is an important image for the legacy of the castle, and the Vivay family through the generations. Aveline wanted to tear down the barrier between the classes, both in Paris and once she reached the Vivay estate. How do we tear down walls of differences with others, whether in our local or global communities?