HOLLOW CITY

The Second Novel of Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children

Ransom Riggs

The extraordinary journey that began in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children continues as Jacob Portman and his newfound friends journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. There, they hope to find a cure for their beloved headmistress, Miss Peregrine. But in this war-torn city, hideous surprises lurk around every corner. And before Jacob can deliver the peculiar children to safety, he must make an important decision about his love for Emma Bloom.

Hollow City draws readers in a richly imagined world of telepathy and time loops, of sideshows and shapeshifters—a world populated with adult “peculiars,” murderous wights,

more …

The extraordinary journey that began in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children continues as Jacob Portman and his newfound friends journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. There, they hope to find a cure for their beloved headmistress, Miss Peregrine. But in this war-torn city, hideous surprises lurk around every corner. And before Jacob can deliver the peculiar children to safety, he must make an important decision about his love for Emma Bloom.

Hollow City draws readers in a richly imagined world of telepathy and time loops, of sideshows and shapeshifters—a world populated with adult “peculiars,” murderous wights, and a bizarre menagerie of uncanny animals. Like its predecessor, this second novel in the Peculiar Children series blends thrilling fantasy with never-before-published vintage photography for a one-of-a-kind reading experience.

less …
  • Quirk Books
  • Paperback
  • February 2015
  • 416 Pages
  • 9781594747359

Buy the Book

$10.99

indies Bookstore indies Bookstore

About Ransom Riggs

Ransom Riggs grew up in Florida but now makes his home in the land of peculiar children—Los Angeles. He was raised on a steady diet of ghost stories and British comedy, which probably explains the novels he writes. There’s a nonzero chance he’s in your house right now, watching you from underneath the bed. (Go ahead and check. We’ll wait.) If not, you can always find him on Twitter @ransomriggs

Praise

“…a stunning achievement.”—Boston Globe

“I was blown away….Hollow City is fantastic…”—USAToday.com

“New readers of the series will find this novel a treat…Fans of the first title will find this book a treasure. The only downside: waiting for the third installment to find out what happens to Jacob and his peculiar friends.”—School Library Journal

Ideal for fans of Neil Gaiman and Daniel Kraus, Hollow City blends fantasy and horror into a world that will engross readers and leave them eager for more.”—Shelf Awareness 

Discussion Questions

1. At the end of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, the children are starting out on a new, hopeful adventure. Though Hollow City begins where the previous book left off, what has changed about the children’s outlook? Do they still have hope?

2. Enoch tends to be the antagonist within the group. Do you think Enoch is pessimistic or realistic?

3. Why do you think the hollows and wights chose to pose as Nazi soldiers? How does this element add to their malicious presence in the book?

4. The children spend the entire book running away from hollows while trying to make their way to London. Did you think running was the best plan, or should they have tried to stand and fight, or simply hide?

5. Enoch repeatedly voices the worst-case scenario. Does doing so harm or hurt the group’s progress? Is it better to keep spirits high by sugarcoating the truth or to be completely honest about the situation and prepare to face it?

6. The Gypsies live separately from the rest of society, much like the peculiar children. What other similarities do you notice between the Gypsies and the peculiars?

7. The children’s stories of their past are mostly sad, especially Emma’s. How would you react if your friend or family member suddenly developed peculiar powers?

8. What did you think about Jacob’s eventual decision to leave the peculiar children? What decision would you have made in his place?

9. Hollow City ends with a spectacular cliffhanger. What do you think will happen in the next book? How will Jacob’s newly discovered powers affect the story?

10. If the books in the Peculiar Children series were made into films, whom would you cast to play Jacob?