THE ANGELS’ SHARE

James Markert

Set during the harrowing years after Prohibition and in the midst of the Great Depression, this is a spectacular southern gothic tale by author James Markert. With piercing, evocative prose, Markert tells the story of the McFee family, owners of the once-legendary Old Sam McFee bourbon distillery and de facto royalty of the small Kentucky town of Twisted Tree. In the wake of Prohibition and personal tragedy, their empire is now a crumbling reminder of what was once great and now the blurring lines of good and evil and a curious blend of miracles and memories have taken hold. When a mysterious drifter arrives and an unexplained miracle occurs,

more …

Set during the harrowing years after Prohibition and in the midst of the Great Depression, this is a spectacular southern gothic tale by author James Markert. With piercing, evocative prose, Markert tells the story of the McFee family, owners of the once-legendary Old Sam McFee bourbon distillery and de facto royalty of the small Kentucky town of Twisted Tree. In the wake of Prohibition and personal tragedy, their empire is now a crumbling reminder of what was once great and now the blurring lines of good and evil and a curious blend of miracles and memories have taken hold. When a mysterious drifter arrives and an unexplained miracle occurs, the family begins to see that a strikingly powerful ray of hope can be found in the most unlikely of places.

Sure to appeal to readers who enjoy Pam Jenoff, Wiley Cash, John Hart, and Flannery O’Connor.

less …
  • Thomas Nelson
  • Paperback
  • January 2017
  • 320 Pages
  • 9780718090227

Buy the Book

$15.99

indies Bookstore indies Bookstore

About James Markert

James Markert lives with his wife and two children in Louisville, Kentucky. He has a history degree from the University of Louisville and won an IPPY Award for The Requiem Rose, which was later published as A White Wind Blew, a story of redemption in a 1929 tuberculosis sanatorium, where a faith-tested doctor uses music therapy to heal the patients. The Angels’ Share is his second novel, and he is currently writing his next historical novel. James is also a USPTA tennis pro, and has coached dozens of kids who’ve gone on to play college tennis in top conferences like the Big 10, the Big East, and the ACC.

Author Website

Praise

“Folksy charm, an undercurrent of menace, and an aura of hope permeate this ultimately inspirational tale.”―Booklist

“Distinguished by complex ideas and a foreboding tone, Markert’s (A White Wind Blew) enthralling novel captures a dark time and a people desperate for hope.”―Library Journal

“Mysterious, gritty and a bit mystical, Markert’s entertaining new novel inspires the question of ‘What if?’ Many characters are nicely multilayered, providing a good balance of intrigue and realism. The fascinating glimpse into the process of distilling bourbon ― and the effect of the Prohibition on Kentucky and its bourbon families ― adds another layer to the story.”RT Book Reviews, 3 starred review

Discussion Questions

1. At the beginning of the novel, William’s relationship with his father is not especially deep. How does their relationship as father and son evolve throughout the story?

2. Which character changes the most from the beginning to the end of the novel? How and why?

3. Asher, despite not being alive for the entirety of the novel, is the force that pushes the narrative. Discuss Asher Keating. Was he a normal man? Was he born special, like a prodigy? Or could he have been something more?

4. Prohibition may have caused more problems than it solved, and organized crime was a result of it. What role did Prohibition play in the plot of the novel?

5. Discuss the concept of nature versus nurture, with Tommy the Bat and his nun twin sister as a starting point.