Bookmark the Blog


VIVIAN MAIER

Vivian Maier

Who was Vivian Maier? Many people know her as the reclusive Chicago nanny who wandered the city for decades, constantly snapping photographs, which were unseen until they were discovered in a seemingly abandoned storage locker. They revealed her to be an inadvertent master of twentieth-century American street photography. Not long after, the news broke that Maier had recently died and had no surviving relatives. Soon the whole world knew about her preternatural work, shooting her to stardom almost overnight.

But, as Pamela Bannos reveals in this meticulous and passionate biography, this story of the nanny savant has blinded us to Maier’s true achievements,

read more

THE COLLECTOR’S APPRENTICE

From the Bestselling Author of The Art Forger and The Muralist

It’s the summer of 1922, and nineteen-year-old Paulien Mertens finds herself in Paris—broke, disowned, and completely alone. Everyone in Belgium, including her own family, believes she stole millions in a sophisticated con game perpetrated by her then-fiancé, George Everard. To protect herself from the law and the wrath of those who lost everything, she creates a new identity, a Frenchwoman named Vivienne Gregsby, and sets out to recover her father’s art collection, prove her innocence—and exact revenge on George.

When the eccentric and wealthy American art collector Edwin Bradley offers Vivienne the perfect job,

read more

BROWN

Brown

As long as the sun is up, Rusty is merely Rusty, but come nightfall, he transforms into Brown—a superhero totally unafraid of the boys who keep smashing up his fort. Armed with his grandfather’s broken pocket watch, paintbrushes, and two cans of brown paint, Brown can do anything! Rusty can hardly be blamed if the big bullies’ bikes start turning brown, can he?

The first book in the highly popular, award-winning middle-grade series from Norway, Brown is a book about friendship, loss, and courage. Brown has been sold into thirty languages and is illustrated by the now-familiar and beloved Øyvind Torseter.

read more

WAITING FOR TOMORROW

Waiting for Tomorrow

A powerful examination of the artistic impulse, cultural identity, and family bonds

Anita is waiting for Adam to be released from prison. They met twenty years ago, at a New Year’s Eve party in Paris, a city where they both felt out of place—he as a recent arrival from the provinces, and she as an immigrant from the island of Mauritius. They quickly fell in love, married, and moved to a village in southwestern France, to live on the shores of the Atlantic with their little girl, Laura.

In order to earn a living,

read more

THE EYE

The Eye

It’s a rare and secret profession, comprising a few dozen people around the world equipped with a mysterious mixture of knowledge and innate sensibility. Summoned to Swiss bank vaults, Fifth Avenue apartments, and Tokyo storerooms, they are entrusted by collectors, dealers, and museums to decide if a coveted picture is real or fake and to determine if it was painted by Leonardo da Vinci or Raphael.

The Eye lifts the veil on the rarified world of connoisseurs devoted to the authentication and discovery of Old Master artworks. This is an art adventure story and a memoir all in one,

read more

MIDNIGHT BLUE

Midnight Blue

From Simone Van Der Vlugt comes her European bestselling novel of a young woman’s rise as a painter in Holland’s Golden Age—perfect for readers of The Miniaturist, Tulip Fever, and Girl with a Pearl Earring.

Amsterdam 1654: against the backdrop of Holland’s Golden Age, a dangerous secret threatens to destroy a young widow’s new life.

Following the sudden death of her husband, twenty-five-year old Catrin leaves her small village and takes a job as a housekeeper to the successful Van Nulandt merchant family. Amsterdam is a city at the peak of its powers: science and art are flourishing in the Golden Age and Dutch ships bring back exotic riches from the Far East.

read more