Bookmark the Blog


THE ENCHANTED APRIL

One of our recommended books is The Enchanted April by Elizabeth Von Arnim

The charming, slyly comic novel of romantic longing and transformation that inspired the Oscar-nominated film.

Four very different women, looking to escape dreary London for the sunshine of Italy, take up an offer advertised in the Times for a “small medieval Italian Castle on the shores of the Mediterranean to be let furnished for the month of April.” As each blossoms in the warmth of the Italian spring, quite unexpected changes occur.

An immediate bestseller upon its first publication, in 1922, The Enchanted April set off a craze for tourism to the Italian Riviera that continues today.

read more

THE PATRON SAINT OF PREGNANT GIRLS

One of our recommended books is The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls by Ursula Hegi

From beloved bestselling author Ursula Hegi, a new novel about three mothers, set on the shores of the Nordsee, perfect for fans of Water for Elephants and The Light Between Oceans.

In the summer of 1878, the Ludwig Zirkus arrives on Nordstrand in Germany, to the delight of the island’s people. But after the show, a Hundred-Year Wave roars from the Nordsee and claims three young children.

Three mothers are on the beach when it happens: Lotte, whose children are lost; Sabine, a Zirkus seamstress with her grown daughter;

read more

LIBERATION

One of our recommended books is Liberation by Imogen Kealey

Hero. Soldier. Spy. Leader. Her name is Nancy Wake. 

The international bestseller — a “thrilling debut” and “cinematic treat” — inspired by the true story of World War II’s greatest heroine (Publishers Weekly).

To the Allies, she was a fearless freedom fighter, a special operations legend, a woman ahead of her time. To the Gestapo, she was a ghost, a shadow, the most wanted person in the world.

But at first, Nancy Wake was just another young woman living in Marseilles and recently engaged to a man she loved.

read more

SEND PICS

One of our recommended books is Send Pics by Lauren McLaughlin

A group of intelligent misfits take matters into their own hands after years of watching Tarkin Shaw, Jonesville High’s popular wrestling star, get away with groping, gaslighting, and worse.

Send Pics sets itself apart from other YA novels about sexual assault by untangling the institutional systems of privilege and misogyny that protect predators and impact how girls are treated in the aftermath of trauma.

read more

WE CAME HERE TO SHINE

One of our recommended books is We Came Here to Shine by Susie Orman Schnall

Set during the iconic 1939 New York World’s Fair, Susie Orman Schnall’s We Came Here to Shine features two ambitious young women—a down-on-her-luck actress and an aspiring journalist—form an unlikely friendship as they navigate a world of possibility and find out what they are truly made of during a glorious summer of spectacle and potential…

Gorgeous Vivi is about to begin filming her first starring role in a Hollywood picture when the studio head ships her off to New York as a favor to a friend. She’s assigned the leading role in the heralded Aquacade synchronized swimming spectacular at the World’s Fair,

read more

VERA KELLY IS NOT A MYSTERY

One of our recommended books is Vera Kelly Is Not a Mystery by Rosalie Knecht

When ex-CIA agent Vera Kelly loses her job and her girlfriend in a single day, she reluctantly goes into business as a private detective. Heartbroken and cash-strapped, she takes a case that dredges up dark memories and attracts dangerous characters from across the Cold War landscape. Before it’s over, she’ll chase a lost child through foster care and follow a trail of Dominican exiles to the Caribbean. Forever looking over her shoulder, she nearly misses what’s right in front of her: her own desire for home, connection, and a new romance at the local bar.

In this exciting second installment of the Vera Kelly series,

read more