Bookmark the Blog


WOMEN TALKING

One of our recommended books for 2019 is Women Talking by Miriam Toews

After two years of women and girls being violated by the men of the community, eight Mennonite women come together to conduct a secret meeting. They are determined to decide how to best protect themselves and their daughters from future harm.

Though illiterate, unable to speak the language of the country they live in, and without knowledge of the world outside their community, the women know they have very little time to make a choice: Should they stay in the lives they know, or do they dare leave?

Based on real events and told through the “minutes” of the women’s all-female symposium,

read more

MEN EXPLAIN THINGS TO ME

One of our recommended books for 2019 is Men Explain Things to Me by Rebecca Solnit

A landmark essay that went viral, inspired the word “”mansplaining,” and prompted fierce arguments.

In her comic, scathing essay, “Men Explain Things to Me,” Rebecca Solnit took on what often goes wrong in conversations between men and women. She wrote about men who wrongly assume they know things and wrongly assume women don’t, about why this arises, and how this aspect of the gender wars works, airing some of her own hilariously awful encounters.

This updated edition with two new essays of this national bestseller book features that now-classic essay as well as “#YesAllWomen,”

read more

ALL ABOUT LOVE

One of our recommended books for 2019 is all about love by bell hooks

The acclaimed first volume in her “love song to the nation”

“The word ‘love’ is most often defined as a noun, yet . . . we would all love better if we used it as a verb,” writes bell hooks as she comes out fighting and on fire in All About Love. Here, at her most provocative and intensely personal, the renowned scholar, cultural critic, and feminist skewers our view of love as romance. In its place she offers a proactive new ethic for a people and a society bereft with lovelessness.

As Bell Hooks uses her incisive mind and razor-sharp pen to explore the question “What is love?” her answers strike at both the mind and heart.

read more

WALLY FUNK’S RACE FOR SPACE

One of our recommended books for 2019 is Wally Funk's Race for Space by Sue Nelson

Wally Funk was among the Mercury 13, the first group of American pilots to complete NASA’s 1961 Women in Space program. Funk breezed through the rigorous physical and mental tests, her scores beating those of many of the male candidates—even John Glenn. Just one week before Funk was to enter the final phase of training, the entire program was abruptly cancelled. Politics and prejudice meant that none of the more-than-qualified women ever went to space. Undeterred, Funk went on to become one of America’s first female aviation inspectors and civilian flight instructors, though her dream of being an astronaut never dimmed.

read more

AMERICAN DUCHESS

Before there was Meghan Markle, there was Consuelo Vanderbilt, the original American Duchess.  Perfect for readers of Jennifer Robson and lovers of Downton Abbey.

Karen Harper tells the tale of Consuelo Vanderbilt, her “The Wedding of the Century” to the Duke of Marlborough, and her quest to find meaning behind “the glitter and the gold.”

On a cold November day in 1895, a carriage approaches St Thomas Episcopal Church on New York City’s Fifth Avenue. Massive crowds surge forward, awaiting their glimpse of heiress Consuelo Vanderbilt. Just 18, the beautiful bride has not only arrived late,

read more

THE SISTERS HEMINGWAY

One of our recommended books for 2019 is The Sisters Hemingway by Annie England Noblin

For fans of Susan Mallery, Kristan Higgins, or Susan Wiggs, this is a novel for anyone who loves stories about sisters, dogs, and family secrets. 

The Hemingway Sisters of Cold River, Missouri are local legends. Raised by a mother obsessed with Ernest Hemingway, they were named after the author’s four wives—Hadley, Pfeiffer, Martha, and Mary. The sisters couldn’t be more different—or more alike. Now they’re back in town, reunited to repair their fractured relationships.

Hadley is the poised, polished wife of a senator.

Pfeiffer is a successful New York book editor.

Martha has skyrocketed to Nashville stardom.

read more