Bookmark the Blog


HOME REPAIR

 Can lighting really strike twice? Just ask Eve, whose husband walks out on her in the middle of a garage sale.

Eve’s beloved Ivan died thirteen years ago in an automobile accident. Her charming, boyish Chuck has taken a different exit out of her life: hopping into his car in the middle of a garage sale with no forewarning and departing their formerly happy upstate New York home for points unknown. Now Eve’s a boat adrift, subsisting on a heartbreak diet of rue, disappointment, and woe-left alone to care for Ivan’s brilliant teenaged son,

read more

THE VISIBLES

 The only piece of information that Summer Davis takes away from her years at Peninsula Upper School—one of the finest in the Brooklyn Heights-to-Park Slope radius, to quote the promotional materials—is the concept that DNA defines who we are and forever ties us to our relatives. A loner by circumstance, a social outcast by nature, and a witty and warm narrator of her own unimaginable chaos by happenstance, Summer hangs on to her interest in genetics like a life raft, in an adolescence marked by absence: her beautiful, aloof mother abandons the family without a trace; her father descends into mental illness,

read more

THE SARI SHOP WIDOW

Pungent curry…sweet fried onions…incense…colorful beads…lush fabrics. Shobhan Bantwal’s compelling new novel is set on the streets of Edison, New Jersey’s Little India, where a young businesswoman rediscovers the magic of love and family.

Since becoming a widow at age twenty-seven, Anjali Kapadia has devoted herself to transforming her parents’ sari shop into a chic boutique, brimming with exquisite jewelry and clothing. Now, ten years later, it stands out like a proud maharani amid Edison’s bustling Little India. But when Anjali learns the shop is on the brink of bankruptcy, she feels her world unraveling.

To the rescue comes Anjali’s wealthy,

read more

THE GARGOYLE

 An extraordinary debut novel of love that survives the fires of hell and transcends the boundaries of time. The narrator of The Gargoyle is a very contemporary cynic, physically beautiful and sexually adept, who dwells in the moral vacuum that is modern life. As the book opens, he is driving along a dark road when he is distracted by what seems to be a flight of arrows. He crashes into a ravine and suffers horrible burns over much of his body. As he recovers in a burn ward, undergoing the tortures of the damned, he awaits the day when he can leave the hospital and commit carefully planned suicide—for he is now a monster in appearance as well as in soul.

read more

EVERY LAST CUCKOO

 Sarah Lucas imagined the rest of her days would be spent living peacefully in her rural Vermont home, in the steadfast company of her husband. But after Charles dies suddenly, seventy-five-year-old Sarah is left inconsolably alone—until a variety of wayward souls come seeking shelter in her big, empty home. As Sarah and this unruly flock form a family of sorts, they nurture and protect one another, discovering their unsuspected strengths and courage.

In the tradition of Jane Smiley and Sue Miller, Kate Maloy has crafted a wise and gratifying novel about a woman who gracefully accepts a surprising new role just when she thinks her best years are behind her.

read more

OF MEN AND THEIR MOTHERS

 In Mameve Medwed’s Of Men and Their Mothers, there are as many different kinds of mothers as there are men: good, good-enough, not so hot and utterly terrible.

Is Maisie Grey-Pollock one of the good ones? She asks herself that question every day of her life, as she tries to navigate the murky waters of motherhood.

As a single mother, she adores her teenage son, to be sure, and is always trying to calibrate how to guide him without being too controlling and too laissez faire. But now, her son’s girlfriend has suddenly come to stay,

read more