Bookmark the Blog


A DECENT MEAL

One of our recommended books is A Decent Meal by Michael Carolan

A poignant look at empathetic encounters between staunch ideological rivals, all centered around our common need for food.

While America’s new reality appears to be a deeply divided body politic, many are wondering how we can or should move forward from here. Can political or social divisiveness be healed? Is empathy among people with very little ideological common ground possible? In A Decent Meal, Michael Carolan finds answers to these fundamental questions in a series of unexpected places: around our dinner tables, along the aisles of our supermarkets, and in the fields growing our fruits and vegetables.

read more

THE MONTH OF BORROWED DREAMS

One of our recommended books is The Month of Borrowed Dreams by Felicity Hayes-McCoy

Return to USA Today bestselling author Felicity Hayes-McCoy’s Finfarran Peninsula with this enchanting novel in the vein of Jenny Colgan, Maeve Binchy, and Nancy Thayer—humming with the rhythms of modern rural Irish life—in which librarian Hanna Casey and her family and friends face new challenges and possibilities.

On the Finfarran Peninsula on Ireland’s west coast, the blue skies and warmer days of summer are almost here. At the Lissbeg Library, Hanna Casey has big plans for the long days ahead. Beginning with the film adaptation of Brooklyn, she’s starting a cinema club, showing movies based on popular novels her friends and neighbors love.

read more

CROSSINGS

One of our recommended books is Crossings by Alex Landragin

Alex Landragin’s Crossings is an unforgettable and explosive genre-bending debut—a novel in three parts, designed to be read in two different directions, spanning a hundred and fifty years and seven lifetimes.

On the brink of the Nazi occupation of Paris, a German-Jewish bookbinder stumbles across a manuscript called Crossings. It has three narratives, each as unlikely as the next. And the narratives can be read one of two ways: either straight through or according to an alternate chapter sequence.

The first story in Crossings is a never-before-seen ghost story by the poet Charles Baudelaire,

read more

UNDER THE WHISPERING DOOR

One of our recommended books is Under the Whispering Door by TJ Klune

Under the Whispering Door is the new instant New York Times bestseller from TJ Klune, author of The House in the Cerulean Sea. A Man Called Ove meets The Good Place in this delightful queer love story.

Welcome to Charon’s Crossing.

The tea is hot, the scones are fresh, and the dead are just passing through.

When a reaper comes to collect Wallace from his own funeral, Wallace begins to suspect he might be dead.

And when Hugo, the owner of a peculiar tea shop,

read more

CATCH US WHEN WE FALL

One of our recommended books is Catch Us When We Fall by Juliette Fay

If you love the emotionally complex novels of JoJo Moyes and the dramatic books of Jodi Picoult, you won’t want to miss this newest book about second chances, redemption, and the power of hope from USA Today bestselling author of Shelter Me, Juliette Fay.

On her own since the age of eighteen, Cass Macklin dated brilliant, troubled Ben McGreavy, convinced he was the smartest person she’d ever known. They partied their way through their twenties, slowly descending into a bleak world of binge-drinking and broken promises, inebriated for most of a decade.

read more

CLOUD CUCKOO LAND

One of our recommended books is Cloud Cuckoo Land by Anthony Doerr

From Anthony Doerr, the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of All the Light We Cannot See, comes Cloud Cuckoo Land, a hauntingly beautiful novel about the power of books to unite us.

Set in Constantinople in the fifteenth century, in a small town in present-day Idaho, and on an interstellar ship decades from now, Anthony Doerr’s gorgeous third novel is a triumph of imagination and compassion, a soaring story about children on the cusp of adulthood in worlds in peril, who find resilience,

read more