Bookmark the Blog


THE WIFE UPSTAIRS

One of our recommended books is The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, Rachel Hawkins’s The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.

Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates––a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.

But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester.

read more

ARCTIC FURY

One of our recommended books is The Arctic Fury by Greer Macallister

Thirteen women join a secret 1850s Arctic expedition—and a sensational murder trial unfolds when some of them don’t come back. What happened out there on the ice?

Virginia Reeve is summoned by an eccentric Brit with a compelling offer. Lady Jane Franklin wants her to lead a dozen women into the Arctic in search of the ships of her husband’s lost expedition, and she’s willing to pay handsomely. All four search attempts Lady Franklin previously sponsored have failed. She has decided only a radical new approach can succeed: let a rag tag group of women make the decisions.

read more

THE READERS’ ROOM

One of our recommended books is The Readers' Room by Antoine Laurain

When the manuscript of a debut crime novel arrives at a Parisian publishing house, everyone in the readers’ room is convinced it’s something special. And the committee for France’s highest literary honour, the Prix Goncourt, agrees.

But when the shortlist is announced, there’s a problem for editor Violaine Lepage: she has no idea of the author’s identity. As the police begin to investigate a series of murders strangely reminiscent of those recounted in the book, Violaine is not the only one looking for answers. And, suffering memory blanks following an aeroplane accident, she’s beginning to wonder what role she might play in the story …

Antoine Laurain,

read more

ALL THIRTEEN

One of our recommended books is All Thirteen by Christina Soontornvat

A unique account of the amazing Thai cave rescue told in a heart-racing, you-are-there style that blends suspense, science, and cultural insight.

On June 23, 2018, twelve young players of the Wild Boars soccer team and their coach enter a cave in northern Thailand seeking an afternoon’s adventure. But when they turn to leave, rising floodwaters block their path out. The boys are trapped. Before long, news of the missing team spreads, launching a seventeen-day rescue operation involving thousands of rescuers from around the globe. As the world sits vigil, people begin to wonder: how long can a group of ordinary kids survive in complete darkness,

read more

MIGRATIONS

One of our recommended books is Migrations by Charlotte McConaghy

For fans of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven, a novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds—and her own final chance for redemption.

Franny Stone has always been a wanderer. By following the ocean’s tides and the birds that soar above, she can forget the losses that have haunted her life. But when the wild she loves begins to disappear, Franny can no longer wander without a destination. She arrives in remote Greenland with one purpose: to find the world’s last flock of Arctic terns and track their final migration.

read more

THE DEADLY HOURS

One of our recommended books is The Deadly Hours by Susanna Kearsley

Four authors. Four stories. One priceless pocket watch.​

From a stellar line-up of historical mystery novelists come four gripping tales of a priceless & cursed gold watch passing through time wreaking havoc from one owner to the next… The characters are irrevocably linked by fate, each playing a key role in breaking the curse and destroying the watch once and for all.

From 1733 Italy to Edinburgh in 1831 to a series of chilling murders in 1870 London, and a lethal game of revenge decades later, the watch touches lives with misfortune,

read more