Bookmark the Blog


THE CARNIVAL AT BRAY

One of our recommended books is The Carnival at Bray by Jessie Ann Foley

“Take the boy. Don’t ask permission. There will always be time to do the responsible thing. Before that, live.”

The Carnival at Bray is an electrifying story of loss and triumph, family and adventure, and of the earth-shattering power of music and love from newcomer Jessie Ann Foley.

It’s 1993, and Generation X pulses to the beat of Kurt Cobain and the grunge movement. Sixteen-year-old Maggie Lynch is uprooted from big-city Chicago to a windswept town on the Irish Sea. Surviving on care packages of Spin magazine and Twizzlers from her rocker uncle Kevin,

read more

THE DAUGHTERS

In this virtuosic debut, a world-class soprano seeks to reclaim her voice from the curse that winds through her family tree.

Since the difficult birth of her daughter, which coincided tragically with the death of her beloved grandmother, renowned opera sensation Lulu can’t bring herself to sing a note. Haunted by a curse that traces back through the women in her family, she fears that the loss of her remarkable talent and the birth of her daughter are somehow inextricably connected. As Lulu tentatively embraces motherhood, she sifts through the stories she’s inherited about her elusive,

read more

CLOSE YOUR EYES, HOLD HANDS

A Washington Post, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, and

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Best Book of the Year

In a voice that shifts from anguished to sarcastic,

heartbroken to hopeful, sixteen-year-old Emily

Shepard recounts her solitary odyssey after the

meltdown of a nuclear power plant near her home

in northern Vermont. Both her parents worked at

the plant: her father as chief engineer, her mother

as head of public relations. Her father had a reputation as a heavy drinker,

read more

SWEET BREATH OF MEMORY

With its tree-lined streets and curbside planters

brimming with spring bulbs, Amberley,

Massachusetts seems a good place for Cate Saunders

to start over. It’s been two years since her husband,

John, was killed in Iraq, and life has become

something to simply struggle through. Cate’s new

job as a caregiver doesn’t pay much, but the locals

are welcoming. Cate’s barely unpacked before she’s

drawn—reluctantly at first—into a circle of friends.

There’s Gaby, who nourishes her diner customers’ spirits as well as their

bodies;

read more

THIS RAGING LIGHT

For fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a gorgeous debut novel about family, friends, and first love.

Lucille Bennett is pushed into adulthood after her mom decides to “take a break”…from parenting, from responsibility, from Lucille and her little sister, Wren. Left to cover for her absentee parents, Lucille thinks, “Wren and Lucille. Lucille and Wren. I will do whatever I have to. No one will pull us apart.”

Now is not the time for level-headed Lucille to fall in love. But love—messy, inconvenient love—is what she’s about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones,

read more

BEYOND MAGENTA

Author and photographer Susan Kuklin met and interviewed six transgender or gender-neutral young adults and used her considerable skills to represent them thoughtfully and respectfully before, during, and after their personal acknowledgment of gender identity. Portraits, family photographs, and candid images grace the pages, augmenting the emotional and physical journey each youth has taken.

read more