Bookmark the Blog


THE CARNIVAL AT BRAY

One of our recommended books is The Carnival at Bray by Jessie Ann Foley

“Take the boy. Don’t ask permission. There will always be time to do the responsible thing. Before that, live.”

The Carnival at Bray is an electrifying story of loss and triumph, family and adventure, and of the earth-shattering power of music and love from newcomer Jessie Ann Foley.

It’s 1993, and Generation X pulses to the beat of Kurt Cobain and the grunge movement. Sixteen-year-old Maggie Lynch is uprooted from big-city Chicago to a windswept town on the Irish Sea. Surviving on care packages of Spin magazine and Twizzlers from her rocker uncle Kevin,

read more

CLOSE YOUR EYES, HOLD HANDS

A Washington Post, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, and

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Best Book of the Year

In a voice that shifts from anguished to sarcastic,

heartbroken to hopeful, sixteen-year-old Emily

Shepard recounts her solitary odyssey after the

meltdown of a nuclear power plant near her home

in northern Vermont. Both her parents worked at

the plant: her father as chief engineer, her mother

as head of public relations. Her father had a reputation as a heavy drinker,

read more

THIS RAGING LIGHT

For fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a gorgeous debut novel about family, friends, and first love.

Lucille Bennett is pushed into adulthood after her mom decides to “take a break”…from parenting, from responsibility, from Lucille and her little sister, Wren. Left to cover for her absentee parents, Lucille thinks, “Wren and Lucille. Lucille and Wren. I will do whatever I have to. No one will pull us apart.”

Now is not the time for level-headed Lucille to fall in love. But love—messy, inconvenient love—is what she’s about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones,

read more

THE SILENCED

One of our recommended books is The Silenced by James DeVita

Marena struggles to remember what life was like before the Zero Tolerance Party installed listening devices in every home. Before they murdered her mother and put her father under house arrest. A time when difference was celebrated.

When the new Minister of Education cracks down in her school, eliminating personal expression and independent thought, Marena decides she has to fight back. Fueled by her memories and animated by her mother’s spirit, Marena forms a resistance group—the White Rose. With little more than words, Marena defies the state officers lurking around every corner, and embarks on a campaign of life-affirming civil disobedience.

read more

THE NARROW ROAD TO THE DEEP NORTH

Man Booker Prize Winner

A Best Books of the Year: The New York Times,

NPR, The Washington Post, The Minneapolis

Star-Tribune, The Economist, The Seattle Times,

Financial Times

August, 1943: Australian surgeon Dorrigo Evans

is haunted by his affair with his uncle’s young

wife two years earlier. His life, in a brutal Japanese POW camp on the

Thai-Burma Death Railway,

read more

‘TIL THE WELL RUNS DRY

‘Til the Well Runs Dry opens in a seaside village in the north of Trinidad where young Marcia Garcia, a gifted and smart-mouthed 16-year-old seamstress, lives alone, raising two small boys and guarding a family secret. When she meets Farouk, an ambitious young policeman, the risks and rewards in Marcia’s life amplify forever. On an island rich with laughter, Calypso, Carnival,cricket, beaches and salty air, sweet fruits and spicy stews, the novel follows Marcia and Farouk from their amusing and passionate courtship through personal and historical events that threaten Marcia’s secret, entangle the couple and their children in a scandal,

read more